C# - Pointer - Surface - Releasing/Freeing/Deleting?

Good Morning to you.

My name is Matt and this is my first post on your forums. I’ve searched briefly but found no simple resource that quite answers my question.

I am using C# to develop a game using SDL2.

I have a feature that is not essential but which I’ve added to my game which currently is disabled until I know whether it is safe to do this or not.

In order to take a screenshot and use the function RenderReadPixels I need to pass the members of the SDL_Surface struct (->pixels and ->pitch) to the function.

I have not had to use pointers anywhere else in my code until now - and I am quite new to them. (Though not to programming and game development - I’ve simply been using languages that either don’t include pointers or never needed them).

This code snipped below shows how I use the pointer in C# to pass some values to the SDL RenderReadPixels function.

My question is how do I then go about freeing the resources used to prevent memory leaks.

if(game.takepicture)
			{	
				IntPtr surface = IntPtr.Zero;
				try
				{
					surface = SDL.SDL_CreateRGBSurfaceWithFormat(SDL.SDL_RLEACCEL,game.SW,game.SH,32,SDL.SDL_PIXELFORMAT_ARGB8888);
					SDL.SDL_Rect rect = new SDL.SDL_Rect();
					rect.x = 0;
					rect.y = 0;
					rect.w = game.SW;
					rect.h = game.SH;
					//WARNING - NOT SURE IF I'M DOING THIS QUITE CORRECTLY. FOR MEMORY SAFETY.
					unsafe
					{
						SDL.SDL_Surface * sur = (SDL.SDL_Surface *)surface;
//I want to know how to free/release/delete this 'sur' after I've used it
						SDL.SDL_RenderReadPixels(game.renderer,ref rect,SDL.SDL_PIXELFORMAT_ARGB8888,sur->pixels,sur->pitch);
					}
					//SDL.SDL_SaveBMP(surface,"media/screenshots/img_"+game.frame+".bmp");
					SDL_image.IMG_SavePNG(surface,"media/screenshots/img_"+game.frame+".png");
				}
				catch(Exception ggg)
				{
					string msg = ggg.Message;
				}
				try
				{
					SDL.SDL_FreeSurface(surface);