Find number of events in event queue

Hi! I’m trying to view all events in the event queue so I can remove events based on a few conditions. I’m trying to do this with SDL_PeepEvents. The problem is it expects the number of events I want to peep as it’s second parameter but I don’t know how many events are currently in the queue (I want all of them).

SDL_Event events;
SDL_PumpEvents();
int count = SDL_PeepEvents(&events, <???>, SDL_PEEKEVENT, SDL_FIRSTEVENT, SDL_LASTEVENT);

Sorry if this is a bad question (I’m very new to this). Any sort of help would be greatly appreciated.

Since the size of events is only 1, that’s how big action should be. If you were to declare events as this instead: SDL_Event events[20];, you could have up to 20 events stored in it, so action should be 20, or (sizeof(events)/sizeof(SDL_Event)). Keep in mind that SDL_PEEKEVENT does NOT remove events from the queue, so your event handler will still have to go through them. And if you don’t use an event handler, you’ll only get the first events each time, so you’ll be going in circles if you don’t remove events somehow.

And just for dynamic funsies:

SDL_Event *events;
events = (SDL_Event*)calloc(sizeof(SDL_Event), 100);
int count = SDL_PeepEvents(&events, 100, SDL_PEEKEVENT, SDL_FIRSTEVENT, SDL_LASTEVENT);

Would it not be best to just ignore the events you dnt use rather then trying to deleting them ?

1 Like

The Event queue would fill up and stop queuing new events. It’s supposed to be limited to 65535. This can be seen in the SDL_AddEvent function in src\events\SDL_Events.c.

if(initial_count >= SDL_MAX_QUEUED_EVENTS)
  {
    SDL_SetError("Event queue is full (%d events)", initial_count);
    return 0;
  }

Hmmm, Maybe I am not understanding the context.
I assume the event queue fills up based on things like keyboard input, mouse input etc ?

So what kind of scenario does the event queue reach its limit ?