Multithreaded GUI done rigth

Hi
I’m not experienced with GUI applications and I’m not sure how to organize them, so I decided to have two separate threads for keyboard events handling and gui rendering: gui thread inits video subsystem and redraws a window and keyboard handler listens for keyboard events. It seemed to work fine until I tried to close my app and call SDL_Quit. It can either throw malloc_consolidate(): unaligned fastbin chunk detected or stuck on std::thread join function.

After I failed to use this approach I googled for SDL_CreateThread information and found this:

• Don’t call SDL video/event functions from separate threads
  • Don’t use any library functions in separate threads

Due to this I have several questions:

1. Isn’t it possible to draw and handle events in different threads? For example, I can limit drawing frequency with sleep(), but I wouldn’t like event handling thread to sleep at all.
  2. What does the second statement mean? How am I supposed to create a multithreaded app if I can use the library in one thread only?
  3. What’s the general approach of creating gui apps using sdl?

P.S. Extra question: I’m trying to get pressed keys with SDL_GetKeyboardState and I’m able to catch KEYDOWN event, but the array returned by SDL_GetKeyboardState is always filled with zeros. I’ using SDL_PumpEvents() to update the state and SDL scancodes as array indexes. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance

First, get the pointer to the keyboard buffer once with SDL_GetKeyboardState, passing null as the argument. The received pointer can be used throughout the entire game session, because the address of the keyboard buffer will not change. To read the state of a specific key, check if the given byte of the array contains the value 0 or 1. The pointer retrieved using the function mentioned treat as a pointer to the uint8 array and the SDL key scancodes as indexes.