New Learner: SDL test project won't run

I am new to programming and finishing up a beginner C++ course. The final project is to build an SDL project. I got the project to build, finally, but it doesn’t run. Nothing happens when I try to run it.
I’m using Eclipse 2020-06 and MinGW-w64 on a 64 bit Windows 10 machine.

1. #include

2. #define SDL_MAIN_HANDLED

3. #include <SDL.h>

4. using namespace std;

5. int main(int, char**) {

6.              if (SDL_Init (SDL_INIT_VIDEO) < 0) {

7.                        cout << "SDL_Init failed." << endl;

8.                        return 1;

9.            }

10.          cout << "SDL_Init succeeded." << endl;

11.          SDL_GetError ();

12.          SDL_Quit ();

13.          return 0;

14. }

Thank you for your help.

HEllo and welcome to SDL discourse.

First, it should be very good if you walk though the discourse tutorial and learn how to paste a source code. (spoiler, just select the code and press the icon </>).

I strongly recommend you to follow up lazyfoo’s SDL tutorial http://lazyfoo.net/tutorials/SDL/index.php .

There are many issues in your code, for example. SDL_GetError(); should be called to get a error. That is, it should be called inside your if statement to check for errors. (I don’t even know how it behaves if there is no error.

This code must do something at least print SDL_Init failed or SDL_Init succeeded.

IMHO, your int main() call should contain variable names as

int main(int argc, char *argv[])

Also calls to using namespace std; are not recommended.

Last but not least, which SDL version are you using? SDL2? Never heard of SDL_MAIN_HANDLED macro. Anyhow, I was able to compile a look a like code here and run it successfully.

#include <SDL2/SDL.h>

#define SDL_MAIN_HANDLED
int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
    if (SDL_Init (SDL_INIT_VIDEO) < 0) {
        SDL_Log("Failure %s\n", SDL_GetError());
        return 1;
    }
    SDL_Log("Success\n");
    SDL_Quit();
    return 0;
}