Project: Arcane Lore

About Me:
I am a C++ programmer with 6 years of experience in cloning a 2D tile-based MMORPG called Tibia (see: http://sourceforge.net/projects/opentibia/ ).
My most active participation on the project was the official client, which I made rather beautiful from the ugly husk there was when it was first started.
I’m also an active-duty U.S. Sailor about to start my first tour on shore duty. You’re supposed to have tons of free time on shore duty; so I figured it would be a good time to put serious effort into this game I’ve had on my mind for a little over a year now.
I do not have a CS degree; or any degree in fact. Programming has been a hobby since high school, and unless I can get a job where I’m my own boss that’s probably all it well ever be (I don’t imagine myself enjoying work in a little cubicle with insane deadlines and all)

About the Project:
The project’s working title is Arcane Lore, but that’ll probably wind up being the released game’s title too. It follows the young life of a boy who is sold into slavery and escapes into a crazy adventure full of loss, death, and destiny.
All funding for the project comes out of my pocket. I’m making middle-ranking enlisted military pay, so I can’t afford to pay salaries. Instead those who help will receive a portion of profits based on their activity.

Gameplay:
The game will be a 2D side-scroller reminiscent of the Castlevania series, although fighting will be much more intense and feel more like a traditional fighting game (IE, Mortal Kombat or the Soul Calibur series). It will “expect” your typical 4-button, 2-analog stick game controller (like the X-box 360 and Playstation controllers), but will also be playable via keyboard and mouse or touchscreen.
There will also be occasional need for acrobatics and puzzle-solving skills.

Story: