Request for research feedback

Hi, I am a research intern at the University of Strathclyde who has been doing a summer research internship. I hope that this is not an inappropriate place to ask, but I am looking for participants willing to use and evaluate an application that was written as part of this internship. If you choose to participate, this should only take no more than an hour or two of your time at the very most, unless you wish to not use the analysis files provided.

My project is to experiment with ways of inferring and displaying socio-technical information about a software project from a version control repository by creating a prototype application. The application infers authorship information in the form of “closeness scores” between authors and the files they have worked on by traversing the history of a Mercurial repository. This is then displayed as a map of socio-technical dependencies between files and the authors that worked on them and between authors and the files they have worked on, which should allow for easy visual comparisons of closeness.

Some potential applications and use cases I can envision in the program’s current form include discovering who the key figures are (i.e. who to talk to about a problem) or what the bus factor (how many people need to be “hit by a bus” before a project is in trouble because there’s nobody left who understands it) is for a project or a subsystem within it. Perhaps a little more depressingly, this also maybe be used to highlight potential cases of poor productivity to be investigated.