Texture to texture rendering (offscreen)

Hello. I have an idea about developing a game and I hope SDL2 is good tool to help me in game development.
I’m new in SDL and I have some newbie questions about working with SDL.

First of all I want to understand working with renderer and textures.
My idea is doing some offscreen rendering from texture to texture. And then render some of this graphics data to window on the screen. I mean 2 separate rendering processes: first offsceen and second to screen.
[list=1:66121f3918][*:66121f3918] I can’t understand why I can create renderer only assigned to window, if I want to use this renderer only to make offscreen rendering from texture to texture? How correctly create renderer to rendering from texture to texture?

[*:66121f3918] Can I create 2 separate renderers: first to offscreen rendering (rendercopy from texture to texture) and second to render graphics to window?

[*:66121f3918] Can I use 2 renderers in 2 threads: first renderer is working in separate background thread and second renderer is working in main thread? I mean 2 threads don’t share one renderer, but share a texture, and only one thread always write to this texture and other thread only read from this texture.

[*:66121f3918] Why I can’t load image from file to texture? I must load it to surface and only from surface to texture. This is not a problem, but this is strange for me: why SDL2 developers don’t implement a function to load image from file to texture without surface in the middle?[/list:o:66121f3918]May be I ask more questions later. Thanks for answers.

1 and 2:

When you’re creating a SDL window and at the same time creating a SDL Renderer, you’re assigning that renderer to the SDL window. You can of course create multiple windows and multiple renderers if you want / need to.

In your case, you only need to create one window and one renderer. If you want to render one texture onto another texture it is done like this: