Using SDL in plug-ins. Possible?

Hello!
I intend to use SDL as the backend of my UI engine in not just standalone desktop applications, but also in plug-ins (on Windows and macOS).
I am studying SDL, and the UI seems to work very well in the standalone, however I am not sure if it is possible to use it in plug-ins where I have no access to, and cannot replace the main message loop, because it runs in the host application.
Is it possible to handle SDL events in a plug-in, and how?
Is event handling mandatory when SDL_INIT_VIDEO is enabled?

Thanks!
John

Not 100%, but think you could try event watch. This was maybe a similar usecase I had once:

static int joyEventWatch(void *userdata, SDL_Event *event) {
    if (event->type == SDL_JOYAXISMOTION || event->type == SDL_JOYBUTTONUP || event->type == SDL_JOYBUTTONDOWN || event->type == SDL_JOYHATMOTION ) {
        SDL_LockMutex(joyEventQueueMutex);
        joyEventQueue.push(*event);
        SDL_UnlockMutex(joyEventQueueMutex);
     }
}

SDL_Event getJoyEvent() {
	SDL_Event result; //  can't result = { .type = 0 } because MSVC dislikes it.
	result.type = 0;  // if 0, means there wasn't an event.

SDL_LockMutex(joyEventQueueMutex);
    if (!joyEventQueue.empty()) {
        result = joyEventQueue.front();
        joyEventQueue.pop();
    }
    SDL_UnlockMutex(joyEventQueueMutex);

return result;
}

void set_joy_event_watch() {
    joyEventQueueMutex = SDL_CreateMutex();
    SDL_AddEventWatch(joyEventWatch, nullptr);
}

Thanks for the reply!

On macOS all the UI handling runs in the main thread, so it may be possible to use SDL_PeepEvents to handle any SDL events whenever my window receives any messages.
On Windows maybe SetWindowsHookEx could be used.

I was wondering if anyone has experience in using SDL in situations when the main event loop is run by another application.

I will try to explain in words what the above code does, just in case is useful.