Using SDL to make a WAV Resource creator

Hi,

Okay so maybe I’m still a noob, but here is how I figured this one out…

I have been wanting to store all my wav sounds in one single resource file, so I decided to create my own resource creator. Basically, using SDL, I load the WAV file into memory, then take all the raw data and store it in my own created file. Pros : my sound files are now hidden from the player. Cons : The resource file is huge, as no compression has been done. If anyone has any ideas on how to compress (like maybe look for repetetive data) please let me know any handy algorithms :))

Any feedback is also appreciated, but please be gentle LOL, I’m still new at all this.

-K

Could you not convert the wavs to ogg or mp3 files instead?

hi,

I haven’t tried that, but in theory SDL will decompress the OGG or MP3 file before saving it to my resource file anyway, so either way I still stuck with a large resource file. I preferrably don’t want all my sound files exposed in the game folder, I am trying to put 10 or so audio files into one single file and call it Audio.1, Audio.2, etc…

I will however give the OGG version a try and see the result, thanks for your input :slight_smile:

K

okay, i tried using ogg, mp3 etc files, but like i suspected, SDL decompresses the files into a raw format in memory.

To elaborate more on what I am doing, here is some code :

Mix_Chunk* test(nullptr);
test = Mix_LoadWAV(“nameofaudiofile.WAV”);

now the test pointer points to the uncompressed audio data in memory. I know the “abuf” member variable points to all the actual audio data, which is merely loads and loads of 8-bit values.

i then write all of test’s data to file :

file.write((char*)&test->alen, sizeof(test->alen));
file.write((char*)&test->allocated, sizeof(test->allocated));
file.write((char*)&test->volume, sizeof(test->volume));
file.write((char*)test->abuf, test->alen);