Audio without callback

Apparently there is a plan to remove the callback audio API in SDL3.

I have a game that I have been working on for many years, on and off. It still uses SDL 1.2 but when it’s ready I will probably update it to use SDL 2 or 3.

I have created a little “sound language” which allows me to create simple sound effects and music. For the music many parts are repeated so instead of just generating all samples as a long array I instead have something that is more like an array of pointers to array of samples (these can be as short as a single musical note but could also be longer). On a higher level, background music often have an introduction followed by a part that is repeated infinitely. At any point I might want the music to fade away. I even have the ability to cross fade the background music to a slightly different version that might use different “instruments”, different octave, different speed, etc. so that it continues from the exact same position in the music flawlessly.

The above works fine using the current callback API, but would it work without it (efficiently, without additional delay)? Would I perhaps be better off using another library for the audio once I upgrade to SDL 3?

As far as I understand, SDL 3 will use SDL_AudioStream. I have no experience with that but I see that it has a function named SDL_AudioStreamPut to add samples. So maybe I could use this to essentially implement my own callback, but wouldn’t that be less efficient? Note that I’m not interested in the conversion aspect of SDL_AudioStream. If the format changed at runtime I would rather prefer to regenerate the samples.

To be clear, this is still just an idea, and we haven’t actually removed the callback from SDL3 yet. But we might, and if we do, we’ll provide a single-header library that one can drop into their project that will spin a thread and call an app’s callback, managing the AudioStream for you.