Beginner SDL 2.0 Compile Error OS X

Hi, I’m new to SDL, and look forward to making games with it! Please help me get started!

I’ve been following the “Lazy Foo’ Productions” tutorials, but I can’t seem to get SDL working.

1. The first tutorial I followed is this one. I downloaded the SDL 2.0 developmental libraries, and dragged SDL2.framework to my /Library/Frameworks folder.

2. Then I followed the second tutorial

Then I try to compile with this: g++ window.cpp -I/Library/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/Headers/

However, I get an error saying “Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64” with a lot of text after. (I can add this if needed). At the end clang gives me an error: linker command failed with exit code 1

How can I compile a basic file and add the SDL 2.0 headers so everything will work? I know I can do things through homebrew, but I don’t really want to do that, as this should work. What do I need to do to get this to work? Please help! Thank you!

Here is my window.cpp file:

#include <SDL.h>
#include <stdio.h>

const int SCREEN_WIDTH = 640;
const int SCREEN_HEIGHT = 480;

int main(int argc, char* args[])
{
	SDL_Window* window = NULL;

SDL_Surface* screenSurface = NULL;

if (SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO) < 0) {
		printf("SDL could not initialize! SDL_Error: %s\n", SDL_GetError());
	}
	else
	{
		window = SDL_CreateWindow( "SDL Tutorial", SDL_WINDOWPOS_UNDEFINED, SDL_WINDOWPOS_UNDEFINED, SCREEN_WIDTH, SCREEN_HEIGHT, SDL_WINDOW_SHOWN );

if (window == NULL) {
			printf( "Window could not be created! SDL_Error: %s\n", SDL_GetError() );
		}
		else
		{
			//Get window surface
			screenSurface = SDL_GetWindowSurface( window );
			//Fill the surface white
			SDL_FillRect( screenSurface, NULL, SDL_MapRGB( screenSurface->format, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF ) );
			//Update the surface
			SDL_UpdateWindowSurface( window );
			//Wait two seconds
			SDL_Delay( 2000 );
		}
		SDL_DestroyWindow(window);
		SDL_Quit();
	}

return 0;

}