Can't compile SDL2_gfx with mingw on Windows

Hi.

I’m new to SDL but have managed to get a working mingw environment running under Windows 10 from the command line by following lazyfoo’s tutorial and have gotten as far as rendering tilemaps to the screen.

I’d like to use SDL2_gfx but am having trouble compiling it. There’s no makefile, and I don’t know anything about automake or its friends.

I’ve exhausted google on the subject and was hoping somebody could point me in the right direction. I don’t want to use CodeBlocks or Visual Studio if possible.

Many thanks…

Andy

A Windows user that doesn’t want to use an IDE? That’s a first for me. :wink:

In the latest version I found on Sourceforge, the path: Other Builds\mingw.zip\mingw\ has what appears to be a Makefile in it, does that not work?

Hi Blerg.

Thanks for the response. I learnt C on the Amiga back in the 90s and although there were IDEs around they were expensive, so I stuck to the command line. This way I can see how the pieces fit together while I’m easing back in to it.

I think you’re looking at SDL_gfx-2.x, I tried that at first but found it didn’t work with SDL2, so ended up with SDL2_gfx-1.x.x.x which didn’t have the makefile. Smiles did help me out with the DLL/lib but by the time I got it working I realised I was barking up the wrong tree and probably don’t need any external things at all.

Many thanks…

Andy