CMake Config in Windows/Clion

Hey everyone,

I started toying with SDL again. Last time I was using Linux/Make and including and linking was relatively straight forward.
This time I am on a Windows 10 machine using CLion, MinGW as Toolchain and CMake. The whole thing is just a pain…

What I am trying to do is, have an “SDK” Folder in my project with all the libraries I need to link, so I can create a simple .zip/Git with the whole thing setup to start experimenting with small projects.

I managed to setup SDL2 and SDL2_image. Then I set up SDL2_ttf and SDL2_mixer in exactly the same way and it does not find the header files.
CMake on the other hand does not complain.

I can #include them directly, giving the full path, but that seems wrong.

I also seem to need to give the full path for libraries from the add-on libraries, while SDL2 is just fine with the path to a folder?

As I am new to this, I don’t even know exactly where to start debugging this. CMake right now feels super opaque in how it works to me.
Is there some kind of guide somewhere?

This is my CMakeLists.txt so far.

cmake_minimum_required(VERSION 3.24)
# Set the project Name
project(SDLBaseSetup)
#Set the C Standard to compile against
set(CMAKE_CXX_STANDARD 17)

#Set Directories for SDL2
set(SDL2_DIR ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/SDK/SDL2/cmake) #Here it will wind a config.cmake
set(SDL_LIB_DIR ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}SDK/SDL2/lib) #Here are the library files located
#Set Directories for SDL2_image
set(SDL2_image_DIR ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/SDK/SDL2_image/cmake)
set(SDL2_IMAGE_LIBRARIES ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/SDK/SDL2_image/x86_64-w64-mingw32/lib/libSDL2_image.dll.a)
#Set Directories for SDL2_ttf
set(SDL2_ttf_DIR ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/SDK/SDL2_ttf/cmake)
set(SDL2_ttf_LIBRARIES ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/SDK/SDL2_ttf/x86_64-w64-mingw32/lib/libSDL2_ttf.dll.a)
#Set Directories for SDL2_mixer
set(SDL2_mixer_DIR ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/SDK/SDL2_mixer/cmake)