Compiling on M1 Macbook

Hi,

I’ve recently started Lazy Foo’s SDL tutorial and get the following errors when trying compile my test program. I’m on a M1 chip Macbook and suspect it has to do with that since many of the errors mention replacing ia32 with arm. As I’m new to SDL I’m not sure how to fix this on my end.

I’ve copied SDL2.framework into /Library/Frameworks and I’ve been compiling with g++ -l SDL2 test.cpp. Any guidance is appreciated!

In file included from /usr/local/include/SDL2/SDL.h:38:  
In file included from /usr/local/include/SDL2/SDL_cpuinfo.h:86:
In file included from /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/lib/clang/12.0.0/include/immintrin.h:14:
/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/lib/clang/12.0.0/include/mmintrin.h:33:5: error: use of undeclared identifier '__builtin_ia32_emms';
      did you mean '__builtin_isless'?
    __builtin_ia32_emms();
    ^
/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin/../include/c++/v1/math.h:647:12: note: '__builtin_isless' declared here
    return isless(__lcpp_x, __lcpp_y);
           ^
/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/SDKs/MacOSX.sdk/usr/include/math.h:545:22: note: expanded from macro 'isless'
#define isless(x, y) __builtin_isless((x),(y))
                     ^
In file included from test.cpp:1:
In file included from /usr/local/include/SDL2/SDL.h:38:
In file included from /usr/local/include/SDL2/SDL_cpuinfo.h:86:
In file included from /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/lib/clang/12.0.0/include/immintrin.h:14:
/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/lib/clang/12.0.0/include/mmintrin.h:33:25: error: too few arguments to function call, expected 2,
      have 0
    __builtin_ia32_emms();
                        ^
/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/lib/clang/12.0.0/include/mmintrin.h:50:19: error: use of undeclared identifier
      '__builtin_ia32_vec_init_v2si'
    return (__m64)__builtin_ia32_vec_init_v2si(__i, 0);
                  ^