Do I learn C or C++ for SDL? I have Zero programming skills and want to learn

I have zero knowledge on how to code but I want to learn a programming language as a side hobby and was interested in SDL. My main question is do I learn SDL in C or C++? I was skimming some tutorials that’s in C++ but people are saying that SDL is a C programming language so I am confused on what programming language to start out with before jumping into SDL.

I use C++, mostly because it keeps my code tidier when you group together all code related to one thing as a C++ ‘object’.

I think SDL is in C to make it more portable and give fewer problems compiling their exact same SDL code on different operating systems.

I’d recommend using C++, but bear in mind that C++ is just C with objects added on, so if you learn C++ you’ll be learning C first anyway!

Agree on Sean comment. On top of what has been said, one way to see this you can mostly use “C code” and use C++ libraries wherever it makes your life easier, for example, when need a map, a list, vector, stack, queue, etc that are all included in the standard library.

This has been my approach while experimenting with SDL.

I think it makes a lot of sense to learn C before learning C++ - I think it’s hard to understand how C++ works without that background.

SDL is a C library but can be used from C and C++ in the same way, so if you start with C and SDL, what you’re learning there is directly applicable when (if) moving to C++ later.

I have written code both in C and C++ at work.

I also think that you should first learn C. Read the Kernighan and Ritchie book, i think this is the 2. edition https://hikage.freeshell.org/books/theCprogrammingLanguage.pdf , this is in my opinion the best book about programming ever written.