Help Setting Up SDL Properly for a Windows IDE

My Question: I have installed CodeBlocks, Eclipse, and Dev-C++ (all 32-bit) on a Windows XP 32-bit machine (slow I know but it’s what I could get), but I cannot get them to work with SDL2 (32-bit developer download) by following various tutorials found here, lazyfoo, stack exchange, and on various IDE forums. I would like to ask if anyone can give me a link to a solid setup tutorial or provide me with instructions on how to install on any of these or another option.

Some Background: I was able to set SDL2 up fine on my Linux machine, but my system with Ubuntu 16.04 is too slow to properly render the graphics, so I’m forced to switch platforms. Also, I’m new to programming (esp with IDE) coming from a text editor and terminal compilation background, so I apologize if I miss some basic concepts.

Eclipse Problem: I cannot seem to build anything and when I attempt to run I receive a “Launch failed. Binary not found.” message. Any configuration attempts I make don’t seem to change this.

CodeBlocks Problem: When I attempt to build my code, it simply replies “error: 1d returned 1 exit status”, which I read is a problem with the linker, but I’m not sure what I did wrong because I am linking the SDL lib folder and using “-lmingw32 -lSDL2main -lSDL2” like many tutorials have suggested.

Dev-C++ Problem: The error says it can’t find the SDL.h file here, even after adding includes, library, etc.

I use Code::Blocks when I’m not testing out CLion, and I run on both windows and Linux platforms. Without the actual error messages, it’s hard to tell what problem you’re having. From experience though, Error: ld returned 1 exit status usually means that you didn’t link to the library for SDL, you’re missing a dependency link, or you have a the wrong bit depth, (ie you’re trying to compile as a 32 bit library, but you have the 64 bit library).

Never used Eclipse, can’t help you there.