How to detect that a surface is invalid

From the description for GetWindowSurface:

This surface will be invalidated if the window is resized. After resizing a window this function must be called again to return a valid surface.

Must I keep track of this myself, i.e. have a list of all surfaces obtained this way attached to the window, or can I detect that the surface is invalid?

Or is this a theoretical question, as such a surface should only be used within a short context (one function), and the pointer then forgotten, and better obtained a fresh one if needed again?

What happens if a such an invalid surface is used?

(I am just learning how to use SDL)

Hello and welcome to the forum!

You don’t need to have a list of surfaces, since there will only be one (1) surface per created window. All you need is a single SDL_Surface pointer, which you set to the window surface by calling SDL_GetWindowSurface().

Just like the documentation says, the surface will be invalidated if/when the window is resized. This means that, if you have assigned an SDL_Surface to the window surface earlier (i.e by calling SDL_GetWindowSurface()), you’ll need to call the same function again to assign your SDL_Surface to a valid window surface.

So somewhere in your code, probably in your event loop, at the point where a window resize event has happened, do whatever you need to do to handle the window resize and then finally call pMyWindowSurface = SDL_GetWindowSurface(pMyWindow); to make your surface valid again.

Thank you for the quick reply.

My concern is about the pointer SDL_Surface* obtained. “Invalid” might mean that it must not be used any longer by any of the surface functions, as all fields of the structure are no longer valid, in particular the pointer to the pixel data refers to memory that is no longer allocated.