Huge decrease in performance in SDL 1.2.15 on older Macs

I am a developer on a project called Odamex. One of my specific tasks is to maintain Odamex on Mac and produce the Mac releases. I started doing this around the time the switch from PowerPC to Intel occurred and so for a short period of time I did build on a G4 ppc before switching. Performance was pretty good especially in fullscreen. Since then we have continued to provide universal builds that are compatible with 10.4 Tiger and up. Of course we were affected by the fullscreen bug that was introduced with 10.7 Lion. When the fixed version of SDL was released we upgrade and that was what we used in our next release. Recently I acquired a 1.67GHz PowerBook G4. I installed Odamex straight from our site and I was surprised to find the performance was awful. In fullscreen the game is a slideshow. I downloaded the version previous to the latest and I found it performed the way I remembered. There wasn’t much of a difference in windowed mode but fullscreen was night and day faster
. I immediately attributed the issue to the fullscreen fix and set out to find an answer to the problem. I found out that Wesnoth is using a custom framework that uses the new code path on Lion and the old code path on older version of OS X. I pulled the framework out of Wesnoth and dropped it into Odamex. It did fix the performance issues. Unfortunately it crashes sometimes when changing resolutions. I then decided to pull the SDL 1.2 branch from Mercurial and build it myself to see if further fixes have been applied. It performs the same as SDL 1.2.15.