I struggle with relationships between game objects. (classes). Would appreciate assistance.

Hello All, first post, first day on this forum.

I’m wondering if someone could look over my rough outline of how I think a game could work.
I’ve been tinkering with game engine for around 10 years now, and not really getting anywhere
fast. I know basic syntax of python, C, C#, etc. - but when it comes time to actully applying the language
to a game - I get lost. I’ve yet to find a good book that applies a language to making a program,
rather - the books I own all seem to just teach the basics of a language.

This time around - I’d like to start from scratch with C++ and SDL2. This is about the only combination
I have not tried.

Anyway - if I can sketch out how I think a game could be made… could someone see if I am on the right track?
If it helps… I’ve been trying to make something 2D similar to Dwarf Fortress or Rim World.

1. I think you start with a main loop… event handling, update, draw.
  2. In that loop you handle the different states ie: title screen, options screen, and then onto a main ‘play’ screen.
  3. My game objects will be classes… maptiles, npcs, mobs, items, quests, etc.
  4. My main file… has arrays… listofmaptiles , listofnpcs, listofitems., etc.

As I generate tiles, npcs, mobs, quests - any game object… I put them in the lists.
When the gamestate is ‘play’ - I then loop through the lists to conditional act upon each item. update / draw .

Bringing this all together - is how I have in the past with pygame and Godot… made games.

They have all performed horribly. They worked - but it was slow once I got 100’s of game objects deep.

I’m sure I’m not doing this right … and unfortunately - I don’t know, what I don’t know.

Can anyone critique this for me?
Am I missing a concept?
Was there a particular tutorial or textbook that helped you jump the gap between programming syntax and actually making a good program OOP structure?

Matt

Hi mattkw80,