Is it possible to modify a part of an SDL_Texture's alpha value

I am fairly new to SDL and would like to know if there is a function in SDL or its related libraries where I can change only a part of an SDL_Texture’s alpha value without changing the entire texture’s alpha value. Looking at the Lazy Foo tutorials, I know that you can alpha blend an entire texture using SDL_SetTextureAlphaMod(SDL_Texture* texture,Uint8 alpha) but I would like to know if I can access a region of pixels from the texture and modify its alpha values while keeping the rest of the texture’s pixels alpha values unchanged.

My goal is to have different alpha values assigned to each region of my Sprite Sheet Class where each region is defined as an SDL_Rect struct.

Some help or some guidance in the right direction will be much appreciated. Thanks!

You can indeed change the alpha value of a texture. You shouldn’t do it directly on a SDL_Texture though, since it’s costly to do operations on an SDL_Texture. What you should do instead is create a SDL_Surface containing the image that you want to load. Then loop through the surface’ pixels and change the alpha value on those pixels that you wish to change. After everything is done, you can create the final texture by calling SDL_CreateTextureFromSurface().

Example code below:

[details=Click here to show/hide the code] SDL_Color GetPixelColor(const SDL_Surface* pSurface, const int X, const int Y)
{
const int Bpp = pSurface->format->BytesPerPixel;
const Uint8* pPixel = (Uint8*)pSurface->pixels + Y * pSurface->pitch + X * Bpp;
const Uint32 PixelColor = (Uint32)pPixel;

SDL_Color Color = {0x00, 0x00, 0x00, SDL_ALPHA_OPAQUE};

SDL_GetRGBA(PixelColor, pSurface->format, &Color.r, &Color.g, &Color.b, &Color.a);

return Color;
}

void SetPixelColor(SDL_Surface* pSurface, int X, int Y, Uint32 Pixel)
{
	Uint32* pPixels = (Uint32*)pSurface->pixels;

pPixels[(Y * pSurface->w) + X] = Pixel;
}

bool Create(void)
{