Load large image like size 1.5GB and width 81000 and height 180000

Hi

I am new to SDL.

How to load the larger size image. for example image size is 1.5GB width 81000 Height 180000.

and i need to scroll the images.

Kindly do the needful.

I am pretty sure you will need to break up your images / textures.
4096x4096 is probably the best you can expect.

Can you explain the need why and we might be able to offer a different solution.

Hi
Thanks for your reply.
I am pretty sure you will need to break up your images / textures.
Without breaking possible?

Can you explain the need why and we might be able to offer a different solution.

I have different type of dpi images like 300,500,640,700,1000,1280,1920 and 3000
I need to load the image and scrolling from left to right and find the speed or velocity. Does it possible?
based on speed like 10 , 15, 20 pixel it should scroll based on user input.

If you have any idea , let me know .

Thanks

I have done something very similar for the background of a side-scroller video game. It was necessary to split the image into multiple textures because of the size limitation (which varies significantly between platforms) but you ‘cannot see the joins’ and the end result was perfectly satisfactory for my application.

Hi

Glad to hear you have done that. can you give some idea how to do that? Spliting image using SDL or some other tools. if you can , can you share the source code. Kindly do the needful.

Thanks.

If your image is in an uncompressed format like BMP you may be able to split it into multiple textures when loaded. If it’s compressed, like JPG or PNG, you will probably need to load it into a large surface (as far as I know there is no limit on the size of a surface) and then use SDL_BlitSurface() to split it into smaller surfaces which can be converted to textures using SDL_CreateTextureFromSurface().

I don’t think my code would be very useful to you because it was written in BBC BASIC!