Massive startup time difference between OpenGl window and non-OpenGl Window

Hi everybody!

I’m new to SDL (and its forum) and I’m really excited getting started here!

I noticed a pretty big difference in startup time comparing a normal window and a window tagged with SDL_WINDOW_OPENGL.

I created a super simple code that just starts a window and closes it when the event SDL_QUIT is polled.

The window starts immediately when the program starts.

When I change the window’s tag to SDL_WINDOW_OPENGL the program immediately starts to take a decent amount of time to start the window.

I tried creating and not creating the opengl context, I tried a number of opengl attributes (via SDL_GL_SetAttribute) and all of the results were the same.

I’d like to know if that is normal or if I’m doing something wrong.

Thanks,
Dan Zaidan

Hi Dan,

What operating system are you on?
What GPU and driver? What CPU?
How long is “a decent amount of time”?

Cheers,
Daniel

Hi Daniel.

I should have included that info in the first place! :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m running a 64-bit Windows 10 on an i7 5820K @3.3GHz.
For the GPU, I have two GTX 780 (SLI) running the driver GeForce 382.05.

I’m compiling the code in Visual Studio (via command line). 64-bit target.
The project is linking with sdl2.lib and sdl2main.lib (and I have SDL2.dll in the exe directory).
All of them are the latest versions (I downloaded them yesterday!).
I’m running the optimized version of the code (-MT -nologo -Gm- -GR- -EHa- -O2 -fp:fast).

It takes 3 full seconds for the window to open when using Opengl. When not, it takes no time at all.

Thanks!
Dan Zaidan

Ok, I don’t think this is normal at all, but I don’t use Windows much
(and don’t have a machine with Win10 at all), so I can’t test it.
I hope someone with more Windows experience and a Win10 machine can help
figuring this out :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Daniel

Thanks anyway, Daniel! o/