Memory usage of simple SDL2 program grows linearly

I am a newbie in SDL2 and I was testing an example code of Lazy Foo tutorial just out of curiosity. The program renders an image named x.bmp living in the same folder as the program. Here’s the example program testsdl2.cxx:

/*This source code copyrighted by Lazy Foo' Productions (2004-2022)
and may not be redistributed without written permission.*/

//Using SDL and standard IO
#include <SDL2/SDL.h>
#include <stdio.h>

//Screen dimension constants
const int SCREEN_WIDTH = 640;
const int SCREEN_HEIGHT = 480;

//Starts up SDL and creates window
bool init();

//Loads media
bool loadMedia();

//Frees media and shuts down SDL
void close();

//The window we'll be rendering to
SDL_Window* gWindow = NULL;

//The surface contained by the window
SDL_Surface* gScreenSurface = NULL;

//The image we will load and show on the screen
SDL_Surface* gXOut = NULL;

bool init()
{
  //Initialization flag
  bool success = true;

//Initialize SDL
  if( SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_VIDEO ) < 0 )
  {
    printf( "SDL could not initialize! SDL_Error: %s\n", SDL_GetError() );
    success = false;
  }
  else
  {
    //Create window
    gWindow = SDL_CreateWindow( "SDL Tutorial", SDL_WINDOWPOS_UNDEFINED, SDL_WINDOWPOS_UNDEFINED, SCREEN_WIDTH, SCREEN_HEIGHT, SDL_WINDOW_SHOWN );
    if( gWindow == NULL )
    {
      printf( "Window could not be created! SDL_Error: %s\n", SDL_GetError() );
      success = false;
    }
    else
    {
      //Get window surface
      gScreenSurface = SDL_GetWindowSurface( gWindow );
    }
  }

return success;
}

bool loadMedia()
{
  //Loading success flag
  bool success = true;

//Load splash image
  gXOut = SDL_LoadBMP( "x.bmp" );
  if( gXOut == NULL )
  {
    printf( "Unable to load image %s! SDL Error: %s\n", "03_event_driven_programming/x.bmp", SDL_GetError() );
    success = false;
  }

return success;
}

void close()
{
  //Deallocate surface
  SDL_FreeSurface( gXOut );
  gXOut = NULL;

//Destroy window