No fullscreen at QHDTV+

Hello all,

I am a SDL newbie using SDL with WinXP and a NVidia Quadro FX1700. The connected display device and the windows desktop are running at QHDTV+ (3840x2400) @ 33Hz. A tiny SDL application I wrote for creating a true color test image runs fine in a scalable windowed mode. Even maximizing this window works fine without a problem. But when using the fullscreen mode at QHDTV+, SDL_SetVideoMode() fails and SDL_GetError() returns:

No video mode large enough for 3840x2400

Thus I verified the available fullscreen video modes with SDL_ListModes() and the biggest video mode reported is just HDTV+ (1920x1200). Is this a limitation of SDL, DirectX or the NVidia driver? How can I further debug this issue?

Regards
Martin

DISCLAIMER:
Unless indicated otherwise, the information contained in this message is privileged and confidential, and is intended only for the use of the addressee(s) named above and others who have been specifically authorized to receive it. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this message and/or attachments is strictly prohibited. The company accepts no liability for any damage caused by any virus transmitted by this email. Furthermore, the company does not warrant a proper and complete transmission of this information, nor does it accept liability for any delays. If you have received this message in error, please contact the sender and delete the message. Thank you.

I don’t see any limitations in the SDL code. What does the windows
display settings control panel show?

You can also try out the PRERELEASE SDL 1.3 code, which uses a slightly
different codepath:
http://www.lisdl.org/tmp/SDL-1.3.zip

See ya!
-Sam Lantinga, Lead Software Engineer, Blizzard Entertainment

Sam,