Question about mixing SDL_Renderer and OpenGL Context [Solved]

For starters, hello, I’m new here. I’ve been experimenting with SDL2 for a few months and I absolutely love it and I am incredibly grateful to everyone who helps make it happen.

This is a question about retroactively adding an OpenGL context (really about adding Dear ImGui) to a project that is already deeply committed to using SDL_Renderer.

Firstly, I’m aware that SDL 2.0.18 (and therefore https://github.com/ocornut/imgui/pull/3926) is on the horizon, which would completely solve my issue but I wanted to ask my question anyway, at least to improve my understanding of the problem (I’m curious of the technical details) or, if possible, to find a reasonable workaround to hold me over until 2.0.18.

I have code like the following:

bool Graphics::beginFrame() const {
	if (imguiInitialized) {
		ImGui_ImplSDL2_NewFrame();
		ImGui_ImplOpenGL3_NewFrame();
		ImGui::NewFrame();
	}

setDrawColor(Color::BLACK);
	if (SDL_RenderClear(renderer.get()) < 0) {
		SDL_Log("Graphics::beginFrame - SDL_RenderClear failed: %s\n", SDL_GetError());
		return false;
	}
	return true;
}

void Graphics::endFrame() const {
	if (imguiInitialized) {
		ImGui::Render();
		ImGui_ImplOpenGL3_RenderDrawData(ImGui::GetDrawData());
		// SDL_GL_SwapWindow(window.get());
	}

SDL_RenderPresent(renderer.get());
}

If I uncomment SDL_GL_SwapWindow then I get the flickering described here: Problem with SDL_RenderPresent() + SDL_GL_SwapWindow()
which makes perfect sense.

The strange thing is, if I leave SDL_GL_SwapWindow commented out, then on Linux I get the perfect outcome. All ImGui windows are drawn on top of everything that was drawn with SDL_Renderer.
But on Windows and Mac, if I leave SDL_GL_SwapWindow commented out, then only things drawn with SDL_Renderer will be visible and all ImGui windows are invisible (but of course they are still fully functional with the mouse and keyboard).