Scaling sprite down while preserving blockiness

Hi all,

first of all, I apologize in advance if (or better when!) I’ll be using the wrong terminology: I’m not a game developer, and have only recently started playing with SDL2 to write a game engine for fun, so there’s good chances that I’ll describe my issues and attempted solutions poorly. In case there’s better ways to address things, please do let me know, as this is all part of a learning process for me!

As I was saying, I’m using SDL2 to write a game engine, specifically an open source point and click adventure engine called KIAVC. I only started a few months ago, and so far it’s been a great experience, since SDL2 definitely made a lot of things easy for me to handle. I did bump into a couple of obstacles when dealing with scaling, though, so I thought I’d ask the community about it.

Specifically, the demo I’m working on uses a lowres canvas (320x180) that I then scale up programmatically (it can be changed dynamically) as far as the actual window is concerned. By default, the demo enforces a 4x scale factor, which results in an actual 1280x720 resolution. Initially I took care of this scaling manually, using SDL_Rect accordingly, but then I found out about SDL_SetLogicalSize which did make all that much easier for me (I only had to scale mouse clicks accordingly, since unlike motion events those seem to refer to the actual resolution and not the logical one).