SDL, not only zlib

THIS IS NOT LEGAL ADVICE. I’M NOT A LAWYER.
IT’S POSSIBLE THAT I HAVE MADE MISTAKES OR MISUNDERSTOOD THINGS.
THE FOLLOWING IS JUST MY PERSONAL UNDERSTANDING.

SDL claims to be released under the zlib license but I have noticed that SDL also contains some files under other licenses. These other licenses may all be compatible with the zlib license but there are still things that they require that the zlib license does not which I think is something to be aware of.

The zlib license is a very permissive license. It requires the copyright and license notices to be preserved in the source code …

This notice may not be removed or altered from any source distribution.

… but for binary distribution (e.g. a DLL or statically linked) there is no requirement to show such information.

If you use this software in a product, an acknowledgment in the product documentation would be appreciated but is not required.

The MIT License

The following files use the MIT license:

src/video/x11/edid-parse.c
src/video/arm/pixman-arm-neon-asm.h
src/video/arm/pixman-arm-neon-asm.S
src/events/imKStoUCS.h
src/events/imKStoUCS.c
wayland-protocols/

The MIT license requires the copyright and license notices to be included in “all copies or substantial portions of the Software”.

The above copyright notice and this permission notice (including the next paragraph) shall be included in all copies or substantial portions of the Software.

The following files use a variant of the MIT license with similar requirement:

src/video/x11/xsettings-client.h
src/video/x11/xsettings-client.c
src/video/arm/pixman-arm-asm.h

… provided that the above copyright notice appear in all copies and that both that copyright notice and this permission notice appear in supporting documentation, …

The BSD 3-Clause License

The files in src/video/yuv2rgb/ use the “BSD 3-Clause License” which also has a similar requirement: