SDL_Pollevent Issue

Hi Guys,

I’m using SDL with Qt to get some joystick input but i can’t seem to get my data input if i’m using the SDL_PollEvent function, while when using SDL_WaitEvent everything seem to be working perfectly.Have a look at my sample code below:
This is my first timeposting here so if there’s anything i’m missing please tell me.

QList<int> Rjoystick::datAxis(int i)

{
QList axis{0,0,0,0};

m_joystick = SDL_JoystickOpen(0);
SDL_JoystickEventState(SDL_ENABLE);
SDL_Event e;

while(SDL_PollEvent(&e)){
switch (e.type) {
case SDL_JOYAXISMOTION:
axis.insert(e.jaxis.axis,e.jaxis.value);

qDebug()<<axis[4];

break;

default:
    break;

return axis;

}

}

SDL_JoystickClose(m_joystick);

}

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Just to make sure that SDL is working properly and that your joystick is recognized by your computer and by SDL etc, set a breakpoint inside your SDL_JOYAXISMOTION switch case, move a stick on your joystick and then check that the program breaks/pauses there.
If the program isn’t breaking/pausing at that point, there’s some issue with your joystick and/or your joystick isn’t recognized/initalized properly by SDL.

Hi , thank you for the reply.
I checked and everything seem good. The joystick is recognised by SDL and the computer.
I have just realised that the problem come from the condition loop. : while(SDL_PollEvent(&e));
Its seems this condition never become true(1).
I have checked the SDL doc about SDL_PollEvent and its state that its return 1 if there is a event pending and 0 when when there’s none.
Interesting enough if i change the while loop to :while(1) and move the SDL_PollEvent inside the loop it is working but then my program get stuck in the while loop and doesn’t carry on.

Paste your complete code in a post here, or upload it to a github or similar, and I can check it out.

Hi, here is my code for the Joystick handling :
`#include “joystick.h”

Rjoystick::Rjoystick()
{
SDL_SetMainReady();