SDL2 window lagging when using OpenGL

I made a GitHub repo with my tests if anyone wants to have a look at what I wrote.

So long story short, using the SDL renderer to draw to the window works great, but just opening the window when the SDL_WINDOW_OPENGL flag is used, makes the entire window lag. It stops responding, moving doesn’t always work, trying to scale the window result in freezing and a “Not responding” error.

I don’t know what I’m doing wrong as it is my first attempt at using SDL and OpenGL with C.
I did try to use it with Rust and that seemed to work Ok-ish but this time is just not working as I expected.
System Monitor doesn’t report any spikes in memory usage or CPU when using OpenGL.

I am using:

Kernel: 6.1.15-200.fc37.x86_64
Shell: bash 5.2.15
DE: GNOME 43.3
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 5600X (12) @ 3.700GHz
GPU: AMD ATI Radeon RX 6700/6700 XT/6750 XT / 68 
Memory: 4047MiB / 32007MiB 

Link to the GitHub - ionutrogojan/test_SDL2_OpenGL

Am I doing something wrong or why does the SDL2 renderer version not lag while the OpenGL version lags?

I have not used OpenGL with SDL yet but I do notice one thing. The end of your while loop may need an SDL_Delay(). It looks like your rendering as fast as your computer will go. From what I understand there is generally an SDL_Delay() call at the end of the while loops to slow down the FPS. In a tetris clone that I am working on I have some logic to target the FPS down to 144. Without this logic the program will run at thousands of frames per second, though I didn’t see the same slowdown in my application that you are describing even without frame rate throttling. I would try at least SDL_Delay(1) for 1 ms at the very least. Maybe try 10 or 100 as well and see if you notice a change.

Electrosys

Does it help if you use a loop to handle the events?

while (SDL_PollEvent(&event)) {
    if (event.type == SDL_QUIT) {
        isRunning = false;
    }
}
1 Like