Tips on organizing my game

Hello guys. I am knowledgeable in C++ and am using Visual Studio right now, but I’m fairly new to SDl and I’m coming over from GameMaker Studio, so a lot of my logic when it comes to organization is based on how I organized my projects in GameMaker. However, because of this, I’ve run into some issues, and I was hoping you guys could give me some tricks and tips on organization.

As of now, I have a texture class and a seperate “object” class that holds stuff like object coordinates and functions to move the objects around and such. Y’know the drill. However, when it comes to textures and objects, I’m finding it difficult to make them work together. A lot of the functions I use in my object class I’d like to use in my Texture class, like moving an object across the speed at a given pace. So, my thought was to reconstruct the texture class to make it a derived class of the object class so all those functions carry over and I don’t have to rewrite them. However, this obviously prevents me from using instances of my texture class in my object instances.

I really want to try to learn SDL by myself as much as I can, but I really am having trouble finding online resources that address these specific issues, and I was hoping you guys could give me some tips on how to resolve this.