Weird texture rendering when not using object pointers

Hi there!

I’m developing a GUI application in SDL2. This is my first time using it but so far I’m really loving everything about it. I am however running into some weird problems when trying to render textures. Luckily I’ve found a fix but I hope to use SDL on future projects and since I don’t know why the problem is occurring or why my fix solves it I fear I might have a fundamental misunderstanding that will continue to cause problems in my SDL code.

Rather than making this post a million lines long I figure it might be cleaner to just post a link to where I’ve detailed the whole thing on Stack Overflow.

I checked around the site and read the FAQ and nothing seems to suggest that this is frowned upon, but if I am mistaken I can take out the link and replace it with an edited version of my post.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Hi Haxses!
I took the time to read the issue you described on SO.
The lazy foo tut is about using a texture as a render target, like here:

But I don’t see SDL_SetRenderTarget anywhere.

Cluttering huge parts of source code isn’t actually very helpful to ask a question in general.
I can’t grep or compile.
Even so I don’t really embrace OOP or hungarian notation I would look into your code if you set up a git repo, preferable on github. Just a fun Question did you do the tutorials 1-42? =)

Sorry if I get superlame now, but if a Texture is declared, it’s declared as a pointer:
SDL_Texture *my_texture;
just like surfaces, well - C and C++ are a lot about Address-Pointers. If you allocate memory you are responsible to give it back before you exit.
The correct way to free a texture is:
SDL_DestroyTexture(my_texture);

-Cass

Awesome, thanks for taking the time to help me out!