Why Same code of SDL C++ works fine in windows but in Linux it is producing delay

Hi Everyone,

I am new in SDL2 . I want to play a sound file (sound.wav) when I push the button on my screen . I pick SDL lib for that task . It works fine on windows but on linux it is producing delay . I mean when I pushing key on my screen it plays the file after some nano seconds . But on windows it works very decently . Please anyone help me for that .

Anyone please answer me .

It would help if you could provide some example code.
From what you say id expect that you only load the file when the button is pressed instead from preloading it at some point and only playing it, but without any code we cant really help you.

~mkalte

@mkalte Please Check

if (SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_AUDIO | SDL_INIT_EVENTS) < 0) {
SDL_LogError(SDL_LOG_CATEGORY_APPLICATION, “Couldn’t initialize SDL: %s\n”, SDL_GetError());
return (1);
}

SDL_LoadWAV(“sample.wav”, &audioSpec, &soundData, &uSoundLen);

device = SDL_OpenAudioDevice(NULL, SDL_FALSE, &audioSpec, NULL, 0);
if (!device) {
SDL_LogError(SDL_LOG_CATEGORY_APPLICATION, “Couldn’t open audio: %s\n”, SDL_GetError());
SDL_FreeWAV(soundData);
Quit(2);
}
SDL_ClearQueuedAudio(device);
SDL_PauseAudioDevice(device, SDL_FALSE);

SDL_Delay(300);

Something is definitely missing there. Are you running all of this when the button is clicked? Because then, there is your problem. You should init SDL together with your application, and terminate it when your application quits. Never on the main loop, during something expected to be interactive. Also, why is there a delay at the end? Why pause the device?

You might have misunderstood the basics of SDL. It is also worth noting that pure SDL_Audio* stuff is a very low level API. It has low latency and allows you to play a constant stream of audio data, but nothing more. I would urge you to look at an SDL_mixer example such as this: https://gist.github.com/armornick/3497064