Would you like to have OpenXR initialization helpers?

Hello! That’s my first time posting here! :grin:

So, I started playing with the OpenXR API last week… And well, it’s initialization procedure is fairly similar to the one of Vulkan. And Like for Vulkan, If the core of the API is cross platform, it needs to talk to the outside world, and that part require some platform specific things that basically required cross-platform developers to #ifdef a bunch of stuff.

One of the areas SDL is really useful is the fact that it allows one single API for doing everything on all supported platforms.

Without going into all the nitty gritty details, OpenXR require you to be aware of 2 main things

1. The Graphics API used. This is fairly obvious, but determine the list of extensions you have to request when creating the instance. A function that return the apropriate list of string for an “SDL_OPENXR_GL(ES)/VK/D3D11/D3D12” would be helpful
  2. The Windowing system used (between Windows WIN32, X11 or Wayland, or “Hey, we’re running on Android right now”. This is easy to handle knowing that SDL created the window. Everything in syswm info is there. This require creating a pair of structures, with one pointing to the other and setting a bunch of flags and low level information to them that depend (for example window handles on Windows or Display pointer when XLIB is running on Linux/UNIX).

The actual way this is done is fairly similar to the way a Vulkan instance and Vulkan surface are created. For Vulkan, SDL has some really handy functions that retries you the extensions you need to load, and create that (platform specific) surface object.