xCode iOS build failing with linker error

I am following the Lazy Foo tutorial “Setting up SDL 2 on Mac iOS” and have reached Step 8: “The project should now build and run with the default source”. But it doesn’t - I get a fatal linker error “ld: library not found for -lSDL2”.

I’ve added libSDL2.a to the ‘Link Binary With Libraries’ build phase, as instructed, and I’ve checked that it is the correct architecture (x86_64, for the iPhone simulator) so I don’t know what’s wrong. I’m running Xcode 9.2 on Mac OS 10.13.2 if it matters.

Any ideas? I’ve very little experience with Mac OS or Xcode so I’m dependent on following a detailed tutorial.

Richard.

If it helps, I follow different instructions. There is a command line tool for xcode, it’s named xcodebuild. I use it with this script to generate all SDL libraries for IOS Simulator/Device & Release/Debug in one shot (https://bugzilla.libsdl.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2302).

Then, for each application, I have a custom CMakeLists (see CMakeLists.txt (2.3 KB)) and I generate an Xcode project that will allow to compile my app.

Thanks, I’ll try it.

I’m afraid I’m struggling with this, no doubt because of my inexperience with Mac OS. Following your instructions at Bugzilla this is what I have tried. I first created the following directories:

~/release/Release_SDL_IOS/SDL
~/release/Release_SDL_IOS/SDL_image
~/release/Release_SDL_IOS/SDL_ttf
~/release/Release_SDL_IOS/SDL_mixer

Then I ran your script:

./ios_build_libs.sh

But it immediately reports:

./ios_build_libs.sh: line 15: cd: /Users/Richard/release/Release_SDL_IOS//SDL/Xcode-iOS/SDL/: No such file or directory

What did I do wrong?

SDL, SDL_image, SDL_ttf, SDL_mixer need to be filled with real SDL sources (by doing something like “hg clone http://hg.libsdl.org/SDL SDL)”.